Upcoming Season Launch

  • South Canberra Competition: Tuesday August 13th (grading week 1),  Season Launch
    – August 20th (Pool Round 1)
  • North Canberra Competition: Wednesday August 14th (grading week 1) – Season Launch
    – August 21st (Pool Round 1)

Sign Up 

  • Monday August 11th or when our player limited has exhausted
  • *Final grading call Monday May 12th: All players can start in Grading Week 2 (subject to availability)
  • **Final Call August 19th:  Only past & current Tennis Canberra coaching & competition players can join in this period (subject to availability)
  • The competition will finish approximately 7-10 weeks after the season launch. Each season will see 7-9 rounds scheduled.  No matches will be played during the school holidays and any rainouts will postpone any fixtures to the following week.

South Canberra

  • Old Parliament House Tennis Club: King George Terrace, Parkes
  • Barton Tennis Club: 45 Telopea Park, Barton

North Canberra

  • Turner Tennis Club: 49 Condamine St, Turner

Start Times

  • 6pm, 7pm or 8pm

We understand some players struggle to make certain times. We advise if you are going to sign up you are able to make at least a 7pm session and either 6pm & 8pm.  We will do our very best to schedule you at your preferred time however we do ask you to be flexible from week to week.


  • *$15/round + $10 Comp Fee per player ($130/player – 8 weeks), $115/player – 7 weeks)

*Multiplied by number of rounds in the season (typically 7-9 rounds pending sign up).

Play 3 Fast 4 Sets

Set 1 – Play a standard Fast 4 Set + Basic Rules

  • Short Deuce Games – 0, 15, 30, 40 & game (no advantage points)
  • Start each game on the right side
  • If the score is Deuce (40-all) the returning team can choose which side to start the point
  • Change ends when set game score equals an odd number (1, 3, 5, 7)
  • Play a tie-breaker at 3-games-all (first to 5 points) – Player 1 (team 1), players 2 (team 2) & player 3 (team 1) serves 2 points in this order. Player 4 (team 2) serves 3 points – if necessary.

Second Set – Advantage Set – 15-love

  • The team who loses the first set is 15-love or love-15 for every game in the second
  • Start of each game on the left side (you pretend you have played the first point)
  • If the set goes to a tie-break (3-games-all) you start the tie-break as normal (0-0)

Third Set – 2 Situations

  • If the score is 1-set-all, start each game at 15-all (start each game on the right)
  • If one team is up 2-sets-to-love, the team that is on love-sets will have a 15-love advantage for all games in the third set (start each game on the left)

Third Serve – For Starter/Beginner Division

  • We may activate a third serve rule for lower starter/beginner pools

The first question we get asked is what if I don’t have a partner?

  • 50% of players sign up individually and  we’ll pair you up with a partner!

If you do have a partner…

  • Sign up individually and be sure to let us know who you would like to play with.

Competition Format

  • Season Comps: 2 Grading Rounds, 5 Round Robin Pool Matches + 1 Finals Week
  • Lightning Comps: 5-Week Round Robin Pool Matches

Match Format

  • 3-Fast4 Sets (Tie-Breaker at 3-all)
  • 15-love (0-15) handicap for the team down in match sets
  • 15-all start if set score is 1-set-each

Don’t stress if you don’t understand these rules.  All rules will be explained during the first round. We’ve tinkered with the rules of the years to maximise the social competition aspect of tennis.

Autumn Comp

February 12th – April 10th

ACT Winter Tennis Canberra

Winter Comp

May 7th – June 26th

ACT Spring Social Doubles - Canberra

Spring Comp

August 13th – September 25th

Summer Comp

October 22nd – December 11th